Network Status Service Status Information and Network Announcements

Critical Xen software updates and reboot ( In Progress )

  • Affecting System : NZ XEN HOST SERVERS Priority : Critical
  • Date : 09/01/2018 12:42
  • Last Updated : 03/02/2018 16:01

Issue

There is an issue affecting all Intel CPUs, referred to in the media as “Spectre” & “Meltdown” or “Kernel Side-Channel Attacks”.  These articles provides a good overview:

For customers on bare metal dedicated servers, we will be installing a kernel with the page table isolation patches.

For customers on virtual machines we are awaiting patches for the virtualization software we use per https://xenbits.xen.org/xsa/advisory-254.html. For Managed VPS customers, we have implemented the 4.14 kernel with the page table isolation patches.

The situation is changing on a day-to-day basis.  It is a critical issue.  And there are various patches and security updates being developed to address the problem.  We are closely monitoring the situation and will be doing all we can to ensure the security of our customers.

Update Schedule

10/01/2018 - 11/01/2018


We will performing updates to all servers on 10/01/2018 - 11/01/2018. These will be scheduled mostly for the morning, starting at 6:45AM NZST.

The software will be updated on the host server. We will stop the VPS's running on that host server, restart the server so that gets the new kernel, then start up your VPS. This typically takes 20-60 minutes.

12/01/2018

Starting at 0030UTC today (13:30 NZST) we will shutdown plskmage.createhosting.co.nz for a short time to make some changes. It will then boot up with a newer kernel. This server runs CloudLinux which is in part incompatible with the newer Xen stack (that was introduced due to the Meltdown/Spectre vulnerabilities) without some changes. After the change, the server will be rebooted using a shim that will allow it to boot the latest CloudLinux kernel but using hardware virtualization.

13/01/2018

We will be performing a series of incremental updates to plskmage.createhosting.co.nz, starting at 0030UTC today (13:30 NZST). The server will be rebooted a number times as part of the updates. We expect the updates to take 2-5 hours to complete and test.

14/01/2018

We will be performing an update to plskmage.createhosting.co.nz, starting at 2300UTC today (12:00 NZST). The server will be rebooted a number times as part of the updates. We expect the updates to take 10-15 minutes to complete and test.

03/02/2018

We will be performing an update to plskmage.createhosting.co.nz, starting at 0300UTC today (16:00 NZST). The server will be rebooted a number times as part of the updates. We expect the updates to take 10-15 minutes to complete and test.



Please contact us if you require more information (support@createhosting.co.nz).